French Syle Supper: Steak Tartare

IMG_1086Rather a long while back, I posted an entry about a French Style Supper that I made inspired by Becoming Madame and Market Day Canelé – but, me being me, I never posted the recipes. Shame on me! So, here is the first recipe of three. A little disclaimer: this is not a recipe for the squeamish – it’s got raw things in it. 🙂

First of all (and trust me, I almost NEVER say this), you want to start with a VERY lean cut of beef. Filet mignon is often recommended, but there are other lean cuts of meat that are much cheaper – it’s completely up to you. Second of all, you want to cut it into the size piece you want (I used about 7 oz  for three people), and freeze it for at least 14 hours. Freezing your meet will ensure that any parasites that COULD POSSIBLY be lurking in your meat are very dead. Frozen meat is also easier to chop. No, really.

Alright, your meat has been frozen, and you’re ready to go. Take the meat out and carefully chop it into small cubes. The size of the cubes is up to you, I like mine to be quite small – maybe 1/16″. You can do this in a food processor, but it comes out more uniform and I think nicer when you do it by hand.

Once it is all chopped, throw it in a bowl and toss with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside in fridge.

In another bowl whisk together a couple egg yolks with a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, a little pepper, and about a 1/2 tablespoon of finely chopped shallot. (I apologize for the vagueness of my measurements, this is all to taste, and the amounts also depend on how much meat you are using.)

Pile small portions of the chopped meat on plates. Spoon the sauce evenly over each portion and top with a small spoonful of capers. Alternately, you can toss the meat with the sauce to coat before serving it out.

Serve with toast points or homemade potato chips and a wedge of lemon.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

