Cocktail of the Week: Nectarine Whiskey Smash

IMG_1038

So, I came across a couple of overripe nectarines in the fridge a couple days ago. They smelled wonderful, but I admit, I’m very picky about the texture of my fruit, and I knew I didn’t want to eat them out of hand. What to do, what to do? Make a cocktail of course! I had just picked some of my sadly neglected, but thriving mint, which I threw into the mix, and as it was a cool night, out came the rye. Three rocks glasses, two thirds of a nectarine in each with 10 or so leaves of mint, a squeeze of lemon all smooshed together and covered with rye and ice. Yum, yum.

IMG_1035

Nectarine Whiskey Smash
Makes three drinks

2 VERY ripe nectarines peeled and cut in chunks (depending on the size of your fruit, you could use one per drink)
3 large sprigs fresh mint
3 wedges lemon
6 oz rye whiskey

In each rocks glass place two thirds of a nectarine, and 10-15 leaves of mint. Squeeze the lemon over. Muddle together thoroughly (I used a pestle for this since I don’t have a cocktail muddler.). Fill each glass with ice (if you are lucky enough to have a way of crushing ice, I recommend using crushed). Pour 2 oz of rye over the ice in each glass. Stir. Garnish with a sprig of mint and enjoy! *Warning: this is a STRONG drink* If you don’t like sipping whiskey…well. Enough said. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

