Cocktail of the Week: A Silver Meyer

Last week when I went to fetch limes from the produce section at the grocery store, I was distracted by a basket full of deep sunset yellow fruit. Meyer Lemons! I was buying citrus for cocktails, so of course I had cocktails on my mind, and I had to try a couple. After all, I’ve never seen meyer lemons looking so ripe. I grabbed a couple, and here’s the drink I came up with. An interesting thing I noticed was that the shaved zest on top gave off a distinctive vanilla like aroma – very different from a conventional lemon. The juice itself smelled of oranges and tasted of lemons (though less tart). A very interesting fruit and I hope I find some again to try out more experiments!

2 oz Gin

1/2 oz Cointreau

1 oz Meyer lemon juice

1 egg white

Shake ingredients until foamy. Add ice and shake until very cold. Strain into a coupe or martini glass and top with grated zest.

Leave a Reply

