Experiment: Nectarine-Lavender Muffins with Coconut Flour

So, I saw this pin on Pinterest (yes, I spend too much time on that site. But, all the cool ideas I find there!). Anyway, someone pinned Lavender Nectarine Muffins. Sounds damn good, I thought. So (after repinning, of course) I clicked for the recipe. Despair! It was in German! What now? I don’t speak German! Ahhh, but the internet can do anything – right? Hasty Google search. Some copy and pasting. Soon I have a VERY rough translation. Well, I’m creative. I can make this work; I WANT ME SOME MUFFINS.

Of course, being the impatient person I am, I decided to experiment on my first go. I wanted to use less flour by substituting coconut flour. This is not quite as straightforward as I thought it would be since you have to add equal parts extra liquid to coconut flour and sometimes you even need more egg for loft. Add to this that I was working with oz (weight) instead of cups (thanks European measurements). Anyway, for a bit, it was very confusing. However, in the end I actually came out with a batch of tasty muffins. Turns out the combination of nectarine, lavender and coconut flour results in a something that tastes a little like a corn muffin. Who knew? I think I may want to try making the straight flour version just for the sake of comparison. We’ll see…

So here is the original recipe (in parentheses are the approximate cup/tbsp measurements, but I would recommend using oz if you have a scale, since it’s more accurate:

120 g (8-9 tbsp) Butter

150 g (2/3 cup) Sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 Eggs

200 g (1 3/5 cups) flour

ΒΌ tsp salt

1 Β½ tsp baking powder

2 tbsp cream

1 tsp dried lavender blossoms (one could use some lavender infused sugar in place of the regular sugar.)

3 nectarines cut in wedges

So, to create my muffins, I substituted coconut flour for 30% of the all purpose flour. I added an extra egg, used honey instead of sugar and added 1/4 cup of milk and a couple more tbsp of cream. The result was:

60 g (1/2 cup) coconut flour

140 g (1 cup) flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

120 g (8-9 tbsp) butter

3 eggs

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup whole milk

1/4 cup cream

1 tsp dried lavender blossoms

3 small nectarines, cut in thin wedges

Preheat oven to 340 f

Measure milk and cream into small bowl and add lavender blossoms. Let sit while you prepare the rest of the batter. Whisk together dry ingredients in a small bowl. In a separate bowl beat butter till creamy. Add honey and beat til fluffy (3-6 minutes). Beat in milk/cream/lavender mixture and vanilla (you can strain out the lavender if you choose. I wasn’t sure how potent that would be, so I opted to leave it in. The muffins were very fragrant). Stir in the dry ingredients until just combined, but still lumpy. Scoop batter into muffin tins and press three slices of nectarine into the top of each muffin. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

Two notes:

1. I turned the convection on for the last few minutes of cooking because the tops of my muffins didn’t seem to be browning much despite being done in the middle. It’s possible these could be cooked at a higher temperature…? Or maybe coconut flour doesn’t brown as much…

2. My muffins weren’t super lofty. Besides the coconut flour, I’m guessing this could be because I added an egg and liquid, but did not adjust the baking powder accordingly. However, I don’t know exactly what those proportions would be. If anyone has insight on that matter, please let me know.

These muffins are especially good cut in half, and fried in bacon fat (or butter if you’re squeamish about such things) until golden and crispy. Yum. And yes, I spread butter on my fried muffins. Call me crazy if you want, but you’re missing out. Sprinkle a little cardamom sugar? Perfection.

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Experiment: Nectarine-Lavender Muffins with Coconut Flour

Leave a Reply

