Cocktail of the Week: The Daiquiri

We’ve been finishing the dregs of bottles on our liquor shelf recently (gotta make room for the two HUGE bottles of New Amsterdam gin we just bought). Several of these bottles contained different rums. This called for the experimenting cap, and turned out a couple of tasty drinks. But it also reminded me of my love for a simple daiquiri, so I thought I’d share my version.

2 oz gold/light Rum (I happened to have some Dogfish Head Spiced Rum which was quite tasty in this drink)

3/4 oz fresh lime juice

1/2 oz orange liqueur (preferably real Curaçao)

Combine the ingredients in a shaker, fill with ice, and shake ’til your fingers stick to the outside. Strain into a chilled glass (I love my coups), and enjoy. It is the perfect hot summer evening drink.

Leave a Reply

