Fig and Honeyed-Chevre Tart with Rosemary Shortcrust

Image

The school my mom works at has a couple of fig trees, so, of course, we picked a bunch of figs. They were delicious. Nothing beats fruit picked ripe and eaten fresh from the tree. You can keep your flavorless, California fruit that was picked green and shipped across the country. Anywho, we had so many that we couldn’t eat them all right away, so I made a tart. The recipe was partly inspired by the most recent issue of Fine Cooking and partly by some research I did. We are a low-grain family so we really don’t eat much flour and my first thought was that I would make an almond flour crust. Unfortunately I forgot to set the timer on the blind-bake and – well – it was a disaster. Back to the beginning. This time with a classic short-crust. Melt in your mouth.

Lots. Of. Butter.

If you are one of those people who thinks butter is bad for you, this recipe probably isn’t for you. I suppose you can substitute a different type of crust, but I guarantee it won’t be as good. I say: eat more (good) fat. But, do as you will with the crust – here’s what I did:

IMG_0588

You will need: 1 9in loose bottom tart pan. I used a rectangular one. Some pie weights/dried beans.

For the crust I used this recipe: http://thelunacafe.com/quick-easy-flaky-all-butter-short-crust-pastry/ but I only used 1/4 tsp salt (1/2 is A LOT!), and I added 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh rosemary and 1/2 tbsp sugar.

For the filling:

8 oz Chevre

3tbsp honey (preferably raw, dark honey. I used some that my friend’s dad collected from his own bees. Yum)

5-7 ripe figs cut into quarters

After the crust is all blind-baked and cooled, beat the honey into the chevre and spread the mixture into the tart shell. Lay the figs on top as you like and bake in a 400 degree oven for about 15min or until the cheese puffs just a little. The figs should be barely cooked. Let cool before serving.

Image

3 thoughts on “Fig and Honeyed-Chevre Tart with Rosemary Shortcrust

Leave a Reply

